Grading System

The Hokushin Ittō-ryū Hyōhō is structured in three levels:

- Shoden 初伝 (begin of transmission / novice)
- Chūden 中伝 (midway of transmission / advanced student)
- Okuden 奥伝 (end of transmission / master)

Like many other koryū (schools founded before 1868) the Hokushin Ittō-ryū kept its old grading system. There is no modern Dan system in the school. A student can only receive a grading after mastering the Shoden level. This means that all the basic techniques have been studied. Gradings are awarded as Makimono (scrolls) and Inka-jō (traditional diplomas).

If a student has mastered the entire technical curriculum of the school he will receive the Chū-Mokuroku (Menkyo) scroll from the Sōke.
With the complete transmission of all the secrets of the Hokushin Ittō-ryū , the Dai-Mokuroku (Menkyo-Kaiden) scroll will be awarded.
This is the highest rank of the school and certifies that the individual is a full master of the tradition.

The traditional five scrolls/ ranks of the Hokushin Ittō-ryū in correct order are:

- Kirigami [剪紙]
- Hatsu-Mokuroku [初目録]
- Kajō-Mokuroku / Seigan-denjū [箇条目録 / 星眼伝授]
- Chū-Mokuroku / Menkyo [中目録 / 免許] 
– Dai-Mokuroku / Menkyo-Kaiden [大目録 / 免許皆伝]

Next to those gradings there also exists the so called Naginata-Mokuroku [長刀目録] which requires complete mastery of all naginatajutsu techniques of the school. Normally the Naginata-Mokuroku is awarded together with the Chū-Mokuroku.

From left to right: Kirigami, Hatsu-Mokuroku, Kajō-Mokuroku, Naginata-Mokuroku, Chū-Mokuroku, Dai-Mokuroku. Those Makimono are the personal scrolls of Ōtsuka Ryūnosuke-Sōke.

Comments are closed